06
Apr
08

New Job

Last Thursday, I started a new job at a local mall as the Guest Services Manager. Sounds simple doesn’t it? Well… not exactly. I visited another local mall to meet with their GSM and she opened my eyes to the fact that this is not a job… this is a career. Do you know how excited that made me?! I have finally made my first move towards being a career woman and I love it! So basically what I do is this:

#1. Manage Guest Services and the 7 employees that run the front desk. This is the retail management part of the job.

#2. Seek out new business to purchase our Visa Gift Cards. This means cold calling, hitting the streets, going to mixers, etc. Selling! Yipes! Never done that before…

#3. Kidgits… kid-what? Kidgits… our children’s program. This is where the event planning comes in that I can do with my eyes closed. We have a monthly show, of sorts, for all our kids club members.

Those are the top 3 things I will be doing. It sounds simple but it’s quite a work load especially since the people before me (both guys) weren’t very organized. That means I’m pretty much starting from scratch.

So far so good though! I can see myself there for a while. The best thing about the company I work for is if we move to Austin, and we plan on doing so within the next 5 years, I have several options of places to transfer to. What a blessing that is!

 

0 Responses to “New Job”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Clicks

  • None

Recent Comments

Sarah Martin on gratitude
gratitude « go… on Friendship…
lacey on running.
Larry on running.
insideoutdasg on 4:44

